About the Department of Computer Science

The Department of Computer Science was established in the year 1997 with the technical and financial assistance of the Belgian government through the Vlaamse Inter-Universiteire Raad (VLIR), the inter-university council of the Universities in the Flanders region of Belgium. Two years after inception in 1999, the department introduced the Postgraduate diploma in Computer Studies, a conversion programme meant mainly to recruit potential Computer Science lecturers for the department and it ran for two years. With the introduction of B.Sc. programme in 2001, and the lean academic staff, the diploma programme was suspended after successfully graduating 6 students. The B.Sc. programme had concentrated on the core theoretical foundation of Computer Science with biasness towards Computer Systems and Software Engineering.

Since then, the department has trained and successfully graduated over 200 undergraduates, the majority of whom have since been integrated into Information Technology (IT) and electronics industry. Seven of them have joined the academic staffing of the department after completing the Staff Development Fellowship (S.D.F).  Despite having gone through a rough patch in terms of staffing levels, the department has registered a tremendous improvement in the last four years, following a massive recruitment and members completing their postgraduate programmes.

Currently the department is running three (4) degree programmes. These are the Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Science, Master of Science in Computer Science, Bachelor of Computer Science and the Postgraduate diploma in Computer Science.

In the year 2015, the department changed its name from the Department of Computer Studies to the Department of Computer Science. The current Head of Department is Mrs. Monde M. Kabemba who is one of the first degree graduates of the department.